Games I Played and Finished in 2013

(If this is your first time here I’d like to direct you to this page first so you can see where I’m coming from.)

So I got this idea from this Kotaku article by Stephen Totilo.  It’s nice to look back and see what kind of a gaming year I had.

Legend

Plain Text – games I played enough to feel as though I genuinely tried the game

Bold Text – completed the game (by completed I mean finished main single player portion)

Blue Text – Obtained Platinum trophy or equivalent S rank

(*) by title indicates game started or played before in previous year

One final note, some games have Platinum trophies or story completion across platforms due to cross-save (see Hotline Miami, Guacamelee!, etc).  If the cross-save does not retain progress, the completion is only marked on the platform completed (see PlayStation All-Stars).

PS3

  • ibb & obb
  • Shadow of the Colossus
  • Grand Theft Auto V
  • Journey
  • Skyrim*
  • Galaga Legions DX
  • Spelunky
  • VANQUISH
  • Runner 2: Future Legend of Rhythm Alien
  • Hotline Miami
  • Stealth Inc.
  • Deus Ex: Human Revolution
  • Battlefield 3
  • Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune*
  • LittleBigPlanet Karting
  • Burnout Paradise*
  • Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
  • Sleeping Dogs
  • Guacamelee!
  • Mass Effect 2*
  • Joe Danger 2: The Movie
  • Zone of the Enders: The 2nd Runner HD Edition
  • Zone of the Enders HD Edition
  • NBA JAM: On Fire Edition
  • The Unfinished Swan
  • Mass Effect 3*
  • PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale

PS Vita

  • Tearaway Note: started in 2013, Platinum Trophy obtained in 2014
  • The Amazing Spider-Man
  • Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed
  • Soul Sacrifice
  • Proteus
  • Jak II
  • Flower
  • SUPER STARDUST DELTA
  • The Walking Dead (previously played on PS3)
  • Sine Mora
  • Earth Defense Force 2017 Portable
  • Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time
  • Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy
  • Rayman Origins
  • Machinarium
  • Limbo
  • WipEout 2048
  • BreakQuest: Extra Evolution
  • FROBISHER SAYS!
  • Spelunky
  • Star Wars Pinball
  • Dokuro
  • Hotline Miami
  • Stealth Inc.
  • MURAMASA REBIRTH
  • Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention
  • Plants Vs. Zombies
  • Uncharted: Golden Abyss
  • Guacamelee!
  • LEGO The Lord of the Rings
  • Chronovolt
  • NINJA GAIDEN S PLUS
  • Jetpack Joyride
  • PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
  • Motorstorm RC*
  • Hot Shots Golf: World Invitational*

PS4

  • RESOGUN
  • Flower
  • Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag
  • LEGO MARVEL Super Heroes
  • Killzone: Shadow Fall
  • Sound Shapes

PS1

  • Final Fantasy VI

iOS

  • Knights of the Old Republic
  • Bastion
  • Theatrhythm Final Fantasy
  • Peggle HD
  • Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP

PC

  • Fallout 3
  • Skyrim
  • Torchlight

A few takeaways:

  • Despite feeling like I don’t have a lot of time to play games having become a Dad at the beginning of 2013, I played a bunch of games.
  • I start way more game than I finish.  I don’t see this as a bad thing since I don’t force myself to play stuff I’m not enjoying.  Conversely, sometimes having lots of game options to play makes it too easy to leave something I should put more time into.
  • I guess out of the four devices I have on which I can play games, I used my Vita far and away the most.  (Note: my PC is barely up to snuff for playing any sort of games).
  • Bastion was great, even on the iPad.  I really wish that would come to Vita.
  • I like my PS4 but I’m still waiting for a game to really grab me.  I’m enjoying Assassin’s Creed IV but I don’t have a strong desire to keep playing it.  I’ll just chip away at it casually when I’m not playing other stuff.  Right now, my hopes lie in inFamous: Second Son.
  • I enjoyed PlayStation All-Stars enough on the Vita to go for the Platinum trophy.  I did not enjoy PlayStation All-Stars enough to bother to slog through it again on PS3 for an easy second Platinum.
  • Skyrim is still great, even on PS3
  • I’ve said it before but I frickin’ love Hotline Miami.  The second game cannot come soon enough.
  • For some odd reason, I really enjoyed Theatrhythm Final Fantasy despite its disgusting business model on the iOS platform.
  • I really wish I had the drive to actually play Knights of the Old Republic on iPad since I’ve never actually played it before.  I just can’t get into games on my iPad (methinks Bastion was a fluke).
  • I need new Mass Effect.  I’m going through withdrawal.  I may have to read some of the books to make up for it since I’ll certainly be waiting for a while on a proper new game.
Leave a Reply

